Some bright spark...

19/08/2013 12:27

Well the cooker from Gumtree is still sat in the kitchen not connected to anything because it turns out that some bright spark thought it would be easier to disconnect the pipe from the gas when they changed the heating system a few months ago. What the reason for this is I do not know, but the damage that was done to the house, and the shoddy workmanship that went into the heating system - nothing would suprise me (do you remember the firemen being called out?...).

Now I have to get someone in to re-do the gas pipe work to from the gas to the cooker. I know the cooker was inexpensive (thankfully), and because I'm buying the bits and bobs and whatever's needed it shouldn't cost as much as it was going to, but it always seems that as soon as we start something in this house it opens a Pandora's box of other things needing to be done. This is setting hubby into a tailspin because it's lots of information all at once and it's gas, so he's stressing about things that can go wrong, and the extra cost and blah, blah, blah.

I won't have a cooker until Wednesday, so for the next couple of days I'm going to have to manage with "picky teas" and things that can go in the microwave - which I hate because I only relented into having a microwave so that I could defrost things or heat up hubby's tea when he was working the long hours he used to work. I never bought it to cook anything in, and I don't cook anything in it, so it could be an interesting menu for the next couple of nights lol.

The girls go back to school tomorrow, and it's just dawned on me that I haven't got their photos for their bus passes. £5 each to get their photos taken, for only one photo to be used. £10 in total. Like that isn't extravagant. Like that's not a jar of coffee, a block of cheese and some bread. I also need to get Biggey some thick tights, or she won't be allowed out of the house with her skirt on lol. Dear me they're growing up fast. It's Middley's first day at High School tomorrow - they cut out the Middle school in Scotland, and Littley is on her own at First school, which she's never had before, so that could be interesting.

I'm in a bit of a flump today, and I'm not exactly sure why. Middley has had a face on her like you wouldn't believe, and I've had "I hate you" and all of the other lovely things that could be said. I think it's because she's a bit unsettled about tomorrow, but also with Middley if a meal isn't provided at the o'clock (12pm and 5pm) she gets more and more unbearable until she is fed, and with the gas man being here working out why we had no gas to the cooker this delayed the meal time. Now that she's been fed she's morphing back into lovely Middley, but by crikey it's a hard slog until she does. 

I now have another cupboard to empty, although I'm not sure where I'm going to put the contents. It's the cupboard the gas man needs to get into to start the new pipework. Mind you, I could bin a lot of things because hubby has a thing for empty boxes. You know the boxes that things come in, the ones that are the packaging for the product inside (mind that is the definition of a box, so apologies for that) and so far I've come across a hair clipper box, a drill box, a kobo box, a drill bit box and that's without even trying. The masses of maps that he has accumulated over the years are also in there - there's even one for Australia, the whole country not just states. What I do with these is beyond me, but I must not throw them out - it's more than my life's worth lol.

I think the reason for my feeling in a flump is because hubby is going to his friend's house a fair bit of the time and the girls are back to school tomorrow, and the car isn't here that I'm going to go back to feeling isolated and lonely again. I won't have the company in the house that I've had the fast seven and a bit weeks, and even though they have driven me to distraction at some points we have had lovely, lovely times in others. The time has flown by and I've enjoyed it. I'll just have to channel my energy into my housework lol. x

Back

Search site

constantlytrying@hotmail.com © 2013 All rights reserved.